pudding chocolate chip cookies

After having a late lunch of Ricky’s Fish Tacos (our first time! And it did not disappoint), I got a hankering for something sweet. It is Easter after all, and since I don’t have chocolate bunnies, Cadbury eggs, jelly beans, or fluorescent Peeps around me to partake in, I could always use a cookie.

So I decided to try pudding cookies. 

Image

These were way tastier than the sub-par picture. I keep baking at night. Sorry!

The recipe is basically a spin on a traditional chocolate chip cookie, but it’s more fool-proof. The pudding makes the cookies nice and soft and gives you some insurance in (over)-baking. They’re also hardy little things. I sort of dropped one while transferring them to the cooling rack and it barely even dented. 

Adapted from Nikki’s recipe from Chef in Training. I cut the sugar, as I do for most baking recipes, and sprinkled in some espresso salt in the flour mixture. 

PUDDING COOKIES

1 1/2 sticks (or 3/4 cup) butter
3/4 cup brown sugar minus 1-2 Tsb
2 tsp white sugar
1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding OR 2 small packages (1.85 oz)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
2-1/4 cups flour
1-2 cups chocolate chips (or whatever add in you would like)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Stir together flour and baking soda and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars together.
  4. Add in pudding package and beat until well blended.
  5. Add eggs and vanilla.
  6. Add flour mixture slowly until well incorporated.
  7. Add chocolate chips or whatever add-in you chose.
  8. Roll into 1″ balls and place on greased baking sheet. Flatten the cookies since if you want a thinner cookie (my personal preference).
  9. Bake at 350 F for 8-12 minutes (about 11 minutes in my oven), and I rotated the pans halfway through when I remembered.

Extremely simple and straightforward recipe. I don’t even want to tell you how many cookies I ate before I finished baking the last batch. Good thing I went to spin class this morning. 

Happy Easter, everyone! Hope you had some of that disgusting Easter candy that I was craving all day!

Leave a comment